Don’t Delete Your Friends, Just Unsubscribe From Them!

At least once in your Facebook lifespan, you have probably toyed with the idea of deleting a friend. You know, the one who likes to keep everyone updated on their daily food intake, or update what they are doing every few minutes. If it’s someone you see on a somewhat regular basis, it can get awkward – what if they find out?

There is a solution! If you just want to weed out the annoying posts, you can unsubscribe to certain friends. Their updates will no longer show up on your news feed.

That’s right, it’s that simple. This feature isn’t something new either. Facebook launched Subscriptions last fall. Subscriptions let you post material publicly for anyone to see, without having to “friend them” and give access to all of your personal info. You are automatically fully subscribed to all of your friends, but you can scale that down to see less of their updates, or even none at all!

As well, you can just as easily stop your updates from showing up on someone else’s news feed. Just add them to your restricted list. Anything that you haven’t made “public” through your privacy settings will remain invisible to them.

You can easily re-subscribe, or remove friends from the restricted list at any time, and they’ll never know. Ignorance is bliss? It sure is.

Nimritta Parmar

Nimritta is a third year student at Simon Fraser University, studying English and Communications. She's a Facebook rat (AKA master procrastinator), and being a student for the last 16 years of her life means that she has education on the brain! (perhaps you've noticed?)